Blue Haze

 

We live in a glorious age of new and improving technology some of it good, other not so much. There are so many pros, but with pros always comes cons, and as much as I would like to say that the pros out weigh the cons it is hard for me to fully believe that. With technology we can literally learn, and explore countless opportunities we can gain insight into areas of the world we never thought imaginable, and connect with people in ways like never before. It is a consentingly growing network creating new opportunities if you are willing to grasp them.  However, on the flip side technology has impacted how we communicate, it has limited our face- to -face human contact, and has affected how we conduct and maintain our relationships. Which I personally believe presents an issue.  Our generation is in a blue haze, a haze created from the blue light of cell phones and laptops.  We are all so absorbed in the fictional rules of social media , it has affected  the way we interact with people, down to the way we conduct relationships and friendships. It is sickening.

So many people are faking happiness for social media, they try to create this person that they feel others will accept. No one wants to take the time to truly get to know someone. People jump into relationships just so they can portray their so-called “true love” all over social media. Sadly most relationships now a days  are a joke, thanks to social media, with people settling for someone just so they can have those cute couple photos. Loyalty and trust are sadly not the norm; with the countless ways to communicate via social media it is easy to see why. Our generation is in love with the idea of love. There’s a crushing silence where love’s a disease. Like a fever it grips me, Like a lover it holds.   However, our generation has devalued the meaning of love.  They look for love in all of the wrong places and for all the wrong reason, they think you need to find someone to complete them            ( Which is false you do not need someone that completes you, you just need someone who betters you and is willing to grow with you) , they look for people to satisfy their needs now and settle with whomever the can find because they are scared of being alone. “Scared of getting older, Scared of dying alone.I’m in a blue haze”  We go back to past relationships because of the fear,  we gravitate back to certain people because they are familiar even if they are not longer what we need. We struggle with moving on because social media gives use a constant look into their lives, a life without us in it, so we go back. And maybe it is the right thing to  do maybe it isn’t. But you can out grow people just like you can clothes, and just like your favorite pair of jeans we still struggle to make them work for awhile until we realize its time to let them go, for they are only holding you back, and will hurt you in the end.This is perhaps one of the hardest things to do, because it’s hard to realize  that someone you care about could hinder you . Because you’re siting there staring at a person who you thought knew you better than anyone else, while memories  flood your brain, and although their appearance is recognizable they are not. It is like talking to a stranger, a stranger with the same eyes and smile one with the same laugh.  It’s hard to fix someone who doesn’t want to be fixed or make someone come back who is already far gone. And I know it is the unfortunate part of life, but here is the fortunate part, not everyone is meant to remain in your life. And those that do shouldn’t be forced to, and if they change it’s for the better not the worst. You shouldn’t be with someone  just because of the past  you shared, you know what they say about the past, you can’t repeat it. Even though J. Gastby would disagree and say  “why of course you can” but look what happened to him, he ended up with nothing in the end.

Our generation likes to make everything so complicated, “I wanna be your lover,
I wanna be your friend.”  Everyone wants to be someone’s lover but no one really wants to be someone’s friend. We do not even take the time to build a friendship, I think good relationships are build on friendships that turn to more, but our generation just plays twisted games. We have created all of these rules based off of the era of social media. Don’t text back  right away you’ll look desperate, or play hard to get guys love that, and god forbid you actually say what you mean,  each text you send should be more complex than the Da Vinic Code. It is a much of garbage created by well… our generation ( I still am forever wishing I was from the 70’s, better music man) I think it’s simple really, forget all of the “rules” If you want to reply to a text, reply whenever you want, whether it be a minute or a day it is in your control, It you enjoy talking to someone don’t act like you don’t just because it is the thing to do.  and if you like someone for the love of god tell them. There is no need to go through life holding back because society says it is better  to be playing the game than to be played by the game. “Staring at blank walls,Pretending I’m not In a blue haze.” When did building relationships and friendship become a game anyway? Be yourself embrace what and who makes you happy, stop worrying about being alone, stop worrying about people who no longer serve your growth, Life is short, time is valuable and words are our most powerful force we have control of, so use it for the better not the worst. Break the cycle, do not fall victim to the haze, conduct your relationships however YOU please, and the right people will find you. 

I write as if I have had this long dramatic history of relationships, I haven’t really, because   to  to be frank there are very few people whom share the same mindset as I, and even a fewer number that could even grasp me.  They say, You’re a little much for me You’re a liability, So they pull back, make other plans I understand, I’m a liability,” and I am perfectly okay with it because here is the thing, your assets must equal your liabilities, so if I am such a liability that must mean I am also quite an asset. ( I won’t become an accounting nerd on you, but that one is kinda common knowledge).  I know I am a lot and a refuse to change that, I am not going to hide who I am so people like me, I am not going to play the game. I am aware I ramble on about topics I love like a child, I know my constant need for adventure can be tiring, and my continually  need to set goals isn’t for everyone ( although what is life if you do not have new goals your are reaching for ?) , but I don’t want to be for everyone, because that would imply that I am part of the norm, and thats a part I never want to be in. Not everyone can handle the amount of liabilities  that I carry for their’s would have to be equally as large for it to balance out , but guess what  with liabilities come risk and with risk comes adventure ( also higher risk higher return)  and with adventure comes living …..and I think that is a risk worth taking. 

Now I know why everything is in a BLUE HAZE.

But I am not.

 

 

Leave a comment